Top 10 Best Animal Movies

This coming January, A Dog’s Purpose  is set to come out, and I have watched the trailer at least 5 times, and cried every time I watched it.  As did EVERY other animal lover I know.  It got me thinking about the impact that movies that focus on animals have had on my life.   So many of these movies were shared with my boys when they were little, and as an adult, I was able to see them through their eyes, and with wonder.   Hence, this top ten list of Best Animal Movies, that are *mostly* kid centred.

  1. Homeward Bound. One of my ALL TIME FAVOURITES.  My son used to call it The Sassy Movie and probably has seen it 50 times.  When Shadow limped over that hill and came into view… I cried. Every. Single Time.  I’m crying now, just thinking about it.
  2. Babe. Cutest pig ever.  And when Farmer Hoggett did his little jig? We all laughed and did a jig with him.
  3. The Truth About Cats and Dogs. While not exactly an animal movie, it was really a Rom Com, but it heavily centred around dogs; and what fun it was!  Watching that giant dog roller skate was definitely worth the price of admission.
  4. Cats & Dogs. What kid DIDN’T want to believe that their dog could be a secret agent?  Sean Hayes as the voice of the Evil Cat Mr. Tinkles was perfect.  Definitely fun for the kids.
  5. Fly Away Home: What an amazing movie and a true story to boot! The tag line for this movie was “to achieve the incredible, you have to attempt the impossible”.  What an incredible message to send out to the next generation.  This movie was so forward thinking.
  6. A Bug’s Life. A great animated film. Came out at the same time as Antz, but this one was the one that got me. For a full YEAR my kids watched this film, over and over and OVER and I still love it.  That’s saying something.
  7. Eight Below. Such a powerful film, and throughout you just kept hoping and praying that the dogs would make it.
  8. The Jungle Book – both the 2016 version AND the 1994 version. I mean, what can go wrong with Jason Scott Lee?  Gorgeous scenery, great story line, beautiful animals (and I include Jason Scott Lee in that, ROWR!).  It’s perfection.
  9. Marley & Me. While the book was so much better than the  movie, watching the antics of the hilarious and adorable Marley constantly had tears running down my face. Sometimes from laughter, sometimes from emotion.
  10. Dinosaur. Ok, it’s animated, and dinos aren’t exactly fuzzy and adorable.  But these ones are wonderful.  The lessons learned, the animation – sheer brilliance.  A dinosaur baby is adopted by a family of lemurs.  I actually watched this movie again last month and it still holds up. Okay, I cried.  Again.  What is it about all these animal movies that cause all this rain on my face!?

The truth is this list could go on and on.  There are so many movies that have animals that deserve honourable mentions.  The Bear, Project X, The Lion King, Jumanji and so on.

Still, I can’t WAIT  for A Dog’s Purpose.

#dogs #cats #PawsitivelyAwesome #ADogsPurpose #movies #BestAnimalMovies

Leave a comment